The Green Eyed Monster

I remember watching an episode of the sitcom Everybody Loves Raymond in which the wife Debra fires her nanny, who is absolutely perfect in every way, just because she feels the children like her better than they do their own mother. Boy do I understand that feeling now.

We havent reached that stage yet. I can see that i am still top dog in my babies’  lives and that they are not yet choosing her over me. The problem is that i am a lot more possessive than i ever realised. I dont mind her being affectionate with them but when she hugs them for too long and calls them ‘putha’ ( a term of endearment which can be taken literally to mean ‘my son’) i can feel my blood start to boil. I can see that my babies always want to come to me first and that only if for some reason i can’t oblige do they turn to her. She, to give her credit, does not try to hog them. She usually  gives me the chance first to soothe them when they are hurt and hold them when they just want a hug but i find that is not enough for me. I want to be their sun, their moon,their stars – just like they are for me. I want to be their everything.

I thought i was a possessive wife but this is a lot worse. I didnt know i could be this greedy. Lord have mercy, having children is certainly an eye opener at all levels.

2 Comments

  1. September 15, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    lets drink to that!

    • mrstoad said,

      September 16, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      :-), Cheers!


Leave a Reply

